This We Believe Award 

We seek expressions of the core attitudes and beliefs—the personal philosophies—about caring for others. Authors should write up to a few hundred words expressing the core principles that guide your approach to caring for others. Feel free to use any format that helps you to con-vey your beliefs: a story, an anecdotal experience, or you may use discursive writing. We seek that personal, inner vision that drives your passion to serve, to teach, and to be with those who need your service.

We know that those engaged in Family Medicine have a broad range of interests; from full-scope Family Medicine, to international health, to care of seniors, adolescents, children, maternity care and women’s health, end of life and palliative care, care of underserved, rural and inner city populations, research, education, practice improvement and healthcare leadership, to name just a few areas of special interest. Statements of belief that share the passion that led you to your special interest are welcome as well.

Modeled on the successful “This I Believe” project, as heard on National Public Radio, the FMEC offers physicians, physicians-in-training, and medical students engaged in Family Medicine organizations, the opportunity to express their core beliefs about serving others. We believe that sharing our passion for being healers will not only strengthen our ability to serve others, but also will connect us to one another and strengthen our mission in Family Medicine. We invite students, residents, faculty, and practitioners to submit statements of their beliefs. The submissions will be reviewed and those selected as “best of” will be invited to share their statement from the podium during the FMEC Annual Meeting. The "best of" statements will also be shared in print with all conference attenders and will be distributed through the FMEC website following the meeting.

While submissions remain the property of the author, a submitter grants the FMEC unrestricted use of the material.

Past Award Winners 

2021 - Hugh Silk, MD, MPH, FAAFP, John Romano, MSIV and Mary Rose Puthiyamadam, MD

2020 - Miguel Rodriguez, MPH, MSIV, Sarah Baden, MD, Maya Prabu, MSIV

2019 - Catherine Florio Pipas, MD, MPH, Lillian White, MSIV, Shelby Reimer, MD

2018 - Allen Shaughnessy, PharmD, MedEd, Wayne A. Forde, MD, Jessica Faraci, MD

2017 - Christina Johnson, MD, PhD, Anthony Pastore, MSIV, Nixi Chesnavich, MSIV
Honorable Mention:  Joshua Steinberg, MD

2016 - Sarah Baden, MD, Winfred Frazier, MD, Anna Chon, MD 

2015 - Sarah Baden, Maureen Litchman, MD, Joanne Dannenhoffer, MD 

2014 - Nellie Wirsing, MD, Derek Woessner, MD, Jennifer Middleton, MD, MPH 

2013 - Katherine Neely, MD, Emueje Ophori, MD , Matthew Loftus, MD 

2012 - Laura Sturgill, MS4, Shawnet K. Jones , Bronwyn L. Sing, DO 

2011 - Bob Motley, MD, Emily Looney, MS4, Peter Elias, MD 

2010 - Jason Shen, MS4, Carla Jardim, MD , Bethany Picker, MD 

2009 - Colleen T. Fogarty, MD, MSc, Karen E. Perkins, MD, Andrea Gordon, MD, Kandie S. Tate, MD, MEd 

2008 - Sallie Rixey, MD, MEd , Allison Hargreaves,MD , Paul Gross, MD 

2007 - Colin Kopes-Kerr, MD, MD, MPH, Lyle G. Bohlman, MD, Kevin Ferentz, MD