Mid-Career Faculty Achievement

The Family Medicine Education Consortium seeks to support mid-career faculty with expertise in an area relevant to Family Medicine. It is our intention to identify and acknowledge one mid-career (i.e., five to twelve years of academic experience) faculty member each year, who has demonstrated significant achievement. There are currently few opportunities for mid-career faculty to be recognized for their efforts. The intent of this recognition is to assist faculty who have not yet received tenure approval or otherwise been highly recognized for their efforts.

Achievement Measures:

To receive recognition through this award, a faculty member may have:

  • Written articles, books, manuscripts or other academic materials which reveal a significant intellectual contribution to the field of Family Medicine and health-care in general;
  • Designed and implemented curricular innovations which have made a significant impact on learners such as faculty, residents, students, patients and their family members and/or the community at large. These innovations should include impact studies de-scribing the effectiveness of their intervention;
  • Designed and implemented health-care programs which have had a measurable impact on those served by the program;
  • Designed and implemented research and other scholarly initiatives that have contributed to the scientific inquiry within an area of interest to the field of Family Medicine and health-care in general;
  • Designed and implemented administrative programs that have had a demonstrable effect on the productivity of the organizations in which they were implemented.

Nomination Process:

We seek nominations from current FMEC members. A nomination should include a letter (two to three pages) summarizing the individual’s contribution and a copy of the nominee’s resume. The nominee should currently be active in one of the various programs and departments of Family Medicine within the northeast region of the US. Senior faculty members (i.e., faculty members who have been approved for tenure or who have received substantial recognition from national organizations) will not be considered for this recognition.

Past Award Winners

2022 Award Winners - Gregory Castelli, PharmD, BCPS, BC-ADM, CDCES and Mario DeMarco, MD, MPH
2021 Award Winners -
Roger Musa, MD and Gretchen Shelesky, MD, MS, FAAFP

2020 Award Winners - Bethany Panchal, MD, FAAFP   and   Mark J. Rastetter, MD
2019 Award Winner -
Todd M. Felix, MD
2018 Award Winner -
Stephanie Carter-Henry, MD
2017 Award Winner -
Chris Bositis, MD
2016 Award Winner -
Amy M. Zack, MD, FAAFP

2015 Award Winner - Melissa Nothnagle, MD, MSc
2014 Award Winner - Philip Bolduc, MD
2013 Award Winner - Giang Nguyen, MD, MPH, MSCE
2012 Award Winner - Wendy Barr, MD, MPH, MSCE
2011 Award Winner - Hugh Silk, MD, MPH, FAAFP
2010 Award Winner - Lee Radosh, MD
2009 Award Winner - J. William Kerns, MD
2008 Award Winner - Joanne E. Wilkinson, MD, MSc
2007 Award Winner - Julie Scott Taylor, MD, MSc
2006 Award Winner - Thomas P. Agresta, MD
2005 Award Winners - Doug Knutson, MD  and  Allen F. Shaughnessy, PharmD
2004 Award Winner - Masahiro Morikawa, M.D., M.P.H
2003 Award Winner - Douglas M. Post Ph.D.
2002 Award Winners - Jeffrey T. Kirchner, D.O., FAAFP  and  John Joseph Smucny, M.D
2001 Award Winner - Hershey S. Bell, MD
2000 Award Winner - Joseph Gallo, MD