Emerging Leaders

The Family Medicine Education Consortium seeks to identify, encourage and support promising Family Medicine senior residents, junior faculty and clinicians in practice (three years or less experience) who have the potential to be future leaders in Family Medicine academic and community service efforts.

Nomination Process:

We seek nominations from the northeast region of the US. All current FMEC members may serve as nominators. A nomination should include a letter (2 pages maximum) summarizing the individual’s leadership experience and potential and a copy of the nominee’s resume.

A panel drawn from the Board of Trustees of the Family Medicine Education Consortium will review the nominations. The nominee should currently be active within the northeast region of the US.

Past Award Winners

2022 Award Winner:  Nicholas Hajj, MD
2021 Award Winners: 
Kento Sonoda, MD, AAHIVS and Molly Warren-ElDabh, MD

2020 Award Winner:  Christen Johnson, MD, MPH
2019 Award Winner: 
Andrew Lutzkanin, III, MD, FAAFP
2018 Award Winners: 
Daniel Neghassi, MD and Jennifer Bradford, MD

2017 Award Winners:  Nicholas Weida, MD and Adam Lake, MD
2016 Award Winner - Anita Ravi, MD
2015 Award Winners - Aaron George, DO,  Virginia VanDuyne, MD, Virginia Wilder, MD

2014 Award Winners - Uchenna Emeche, MD, Noah Rosenberg, MD, Ramon Cancino, MD
2013 Award Winners - Nicolas Cohen, MD and David O'Gurek, MD

2012 Award Winners - K. Torian Easterling, MD, Deborah Dreyfus, MD, Douglas Scott McCracken, MD
2011 Award Winners - Jennifer Sparks, MD, Kelechi Uduhiri, MD, MPH, MS, Kristen Goodel, MD
2010 Award Winners - Olapeju Simoyan MD, MPH  and  Amber Stonehouse Tully, MD
2009 Award Winners - Deborah Rin Erlich, MD, Jennifer L. Middleton, MD, MPH, Ranit Mishori, MD, MHS, Gregory L. Sawin, MD, MPH
2008 Award Winners - Eleni O'Donovan, MD, Jacqueline Nwando Olayiwola, MD, MPH, FAAFP, Karen E. Perkins, MD
2007 Award Winners - Debra Bell, MD, Marguerite R. Duane, MD, MPH, Jacqueline Weaver-Agostoni, DO, MPH
2006 Award Winners - Peter Forman MD, Tamara Gutierrez, MD, Barsam Kasravi, MD, MPH
2005 Award Winners - Joshua Coren, DO, MBA, Adam Dimitrov, MD, Stephen North, MD, Stacey Robert, MD
2004 Award Winners - Amy Lutisha Lee, MD, Brian A. Yeaman, MD, Christine D. Hudak, MD, Donna Cohen, MD