Family Physicians Who Are Changing Our World

Family Physicians have a long tradition of leadership in the communities in which they live and work. In addition to caring for patients and families in the office and hospital, they are involved on the local, state, national and international scene.

The Family Medicine Education Consortium, Inc. seeks to identify and recognize Family Physicians who have developed innovative projects and programs that have had a positive impact on the world. The FMEC seeks to recognize Family Physicians who have demonstrated significant achievement in promoting the health and well-being of the community at the local, state, national or international levels.

Achievement Measures:

To receive recognition through this award, a Family Physician must: Currently live and/or work in the northeast region of the US (Ohio to Maine to DC, Maryland and West Virginia) at the time of nomination. Have designed and implemented innovations that made a significant impact on the health and well-being of the community at large. The nominees should be currently alive and active in their project. Nominations may include recently retired individuals. Their efforts should have had a demonstrable impact on a group or groups of people in the community at large. The focus of their effort may be related to the health care, political, economic, religious/spiritual domains.

Nomination Process:
We seek nominations from Family Physicians, residents, medical students or representatives of organizations who are FMEC members and are associated with Family Physicians in the northeast region of the US. A nomination should include a letter (two to three pages) summarizing the individual’s contribution and a copy of the nominee’s resume. The nominations will be reviewed by a panel drawn from the membership of the FMEC. At present, we anticipate identifying at least one Family Physician each year.

Past Award Winners:

2022 Award Winner - Sara G. Shields, MD, MS
2021 Award Winner - 
Linda W. Prine, MD

2020 Award Winner - J. Nwando Olayiwola, MD, MPH, FAAFP
2019 Award Winner -
Hugh Silk, MD, MPH, FAAFP
2018 Award Winner -
Holly Ann Russell, MD
2017 Award Winner - 
Joshua Steinberg, MD

2016 Award Winner - Bruce Block, MD
2015 Award Winner - Vincent Waite, MD, MPH and TM
2014 Award Winner - Alan Dappen, MD   and   Susan Kaye MD, FAAFP

2013 Award Winner - Stephen Smith, MD, MPH
2012 Award Winner - Jeffrey S. Geller, MD
2011 Award Winner  - Jeffrey Brenner, MD
2010 Award Winner - John Rugge, MD
2009 Award Winner - Michael Fine, MD
2008 Award Winner - Craig C. Clark, MD
2007 Award Winner - Douglas Stockman, MD
2006 Award Winner - Alain J. Montegut, MD

2005 Award Winner - Alvin H. Strelnick, MD
2004 Award Winner - Jeffery E. Heck, MD
2003 Award Winner - Robert Paeglow, MD