FMEC Awards

Who We Serve:

Northeast Region

Creative Writing Award

Stories and poems are powerful ways of sharing the vision and depth of Family Medicine, its philosophy of care and scope of practice.

We invite submissions of written materials that derive from the experience of teaching/learning or practicing Family Medicine. Faculty, clinicians and medical students in the northeast region of the US are eligible to participate. Stories, poems, and other forms of fiction or non-fiction writing are welcomed.

A panel of reviewers composed of Family Medicine faculty and creative professionals experienced in manuscript evaluation will review each submission with an eye to its critical reflection, emotional honesty and technical merit.

Submissions may be no longer than 1500 words. Pieces published or pending publication at a national level (magazines, journals, and books with a national circulation) prior to the award date are not eligible for this award. An author may submit a maximum of one poem and one prose piece.

The best submissions are honored at the annual FMEC Northeast Region Meeting in its Awards Booklet. While submissions remain the property of the author, a submitter grants the FMEC unrestricted use of the material.


2002 Winners

1st Place:The Dark Bridal Canopy, Jeffrey Borkan, MD, PhD
2nd Place:The Anesthesiologist, Miriam Hoffman, MD
3rd Place:The Things I Carry, James L. Glazer, MD
3rd Place (Co-Winner):Terror on the Home Front,Author:Mary J. Glazer, MD

2003 Winners

1st Place:Pay Attention, Mary Ready, MD
2nd Place:Learning About Death, Julie S. Taylor, MD, MSc

2004 Winners

1st Place:Cancun, Joanne Wilkinson MD
2nd Place (Tie):What do you want from our village?, Brian Irwin DO
2nd Place (Tie):Delusions of Grandeur, Carla Jardim MD

2005 Winners

1st Place:Health, Scott Paist, MD
2nd Place:The Pronouncement, John A. Vaughn, MD
3rd Place:Inhibited, Christine Chen, MD

2006 Winners

1st Place: Smoke,Melissa S. Tesher, MD
2nd Place: The Perpetual Lesson, Maureen Litchman, MD
3rd Place: Isaac, Maryellen All Schroeder, MD

2007 Winners

1st Place: Ceremony, Joel S. Lazar MD
2nd Place: The Island,Peter A. Selwyn MD, MPH
3rd Place: Forced Participation, James A. Feinstein, A.B., 4th Year Medical Student

2008 Award Winner

A Catcher’s Knees: John Sutton, MD

2009 Award Winner

Nicolas Nguyen, MD 1st place prose

Anthony F. Valdini, MD 2nd place prose

Tracy Brobyn, MD 3rd place prose

Amy J. DiPlacido, MD Honorable Mention

2010 Award Winner

Joanne Wilkinson, MD, MSc 1st place prose

Courtney Nall, MD 2nd place prose

Kenneth Lin, MD 3rd place prose

2011 Award Winner

Carl Tyler, MD 1st place poetry

Katy Brodski-Quigley, MD 2nd place poetry

Bethany-Rose Daubman, MD 1st place prose & 1st place in the new prose/poetry category

2012 Award Winner

Aimee Burke Valeras, 1st place prose

Noah M. Rosenberg, MS4, 2nd place prose


2002 Award Winners

1st Place: New to this Doctoring, Jessica Small, MD
2nd Place: Could You Know?, Colleen Fogarty, MD
3rd Place: Her body is in ruin, Scott Paist III, MD

2003 Award Winners

1st Place: Anatomy Lesson,Robert S. Fawcett, MD, MS
Honorable Mention: Mr. Hannah, Jessica Small, MD

2004 Award Winners

1st Place:The Plunge, Amy L. Lee MD
2nd Place:Advanced Maternal Age, Joanna Brown MD
3rd Place:The Most Beautiful Word, Catherine M. Weber PhD

2005 Award Winners

1st Place:CHF, Goldie Alfasi, PhD
2nd Place:Shoelaces, Jaime Blank, MD
3rd Place:Wind Songs, Barbara A. Majeroni, MD

2006 Award Winners

1st Place:My Patient Returns Home, Tina Holt, MD
2nd Place:Memorial, Carla Jardim MD
3rd Place:Washing Feet, Robert Fawcett MD

2007 Award Winners

1st Place:Awful Silence, Ms. Rachel Eash-Scott, PGY-3
2nd Place:In Passing, Ms. Ruth Overlease, Medical Student
3rd Place:Balance, Tara Stein, MD

2008 Award Winner

An Aegophony of Sight, Kohar Jones, MD

2009 Award Winner

Carla Jardim, MD, 1st place poetry

Meera Ramachandran, MD, 2nd place poetry

Stephen Schultz, MD, 3rd place poetry

2010 Award Winner

Joanne Wilkinson, MD, MSc 1st place poetry

Elizabeth Strawbridge, MD 1st place poetry

2011 Award Winner

Carl Tyler, MD 1stplace poetry

Katy Brodski-Quigley, MD 2nd place poetry

Bethany-Rose Daubman, MD 1st place prose & 1st place in the new prose/poetry category

2012 Award Winner

Ingrid Calle, DO, 1stplace poetry

Darlene Peterson, MS2, 2nd place poetry